Posts: 4,846
Threads: 180
Joined: May 2007
Reputation:
254
would you mind posting this over at
http://www.communityplugins.com/forum/fo....php?fid=4 ? it would be easier for me to track the support requests.
Can you pride the URL to the showcase and a test account that has showcase permissions? I may need ACP access to the myshowcase admin and the themes/templates as well.
Lost interest, sold my sites, will browse here once in a while. It's been fun.
Posts: 4,846
Threads: 180
Joined: May 2007
Reputation:
254
2012-05-15, 03:24 PM
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-15, 05:15 PM by pavemen.)
version 2.5.2 posted to the Mods site, though I would much prefer you look for the latest at
Community Plugins
Also, it would be much simpler to provide you all proper support if you requested help over there and create your own new threads so i can be sure your individual issues are properly tracked and resolved. As you can see, 10+ pages of mixed support is difficult to follow
Thanks
Lost interest, sold my sites, will browse here once in a while. It's been fun.
Posts: 4,846
Threads: 180
Joined: May 2007
Reputation:
254
Go to ACP > Template and Style > Templates > Search/Replace and put
{$post['garage_user_link']}
in the top box and click Find and Replace. It will then list where that code is found and you can then right-click on Edit to open in a new window/tab and edit there.
Lost interest, sold my sites, will browse here once in a while. It's been fun.
Posts: 4,846
Threads: 180
Joined: May 2007
Reputation:
254
There is already a random image function and supporting template in the main plugin file. You simply need to enable/tweak the hook call to run when you want it to., right now it is set to run at portal_start.
What it does is call myshowcase_portal_random() which for me was setup to run different for guests than registered users. The base code for that functionality is still there, just commented out if you want to use it (I ran an ad block for guests instead of an image). This function calls myshowcase_get_random() and returns 0 if nothing is found or the resulting template output.
The template is called portal_rand_showcase and you can edit as needed.
Lost interest, sold my sites, will browse here once in a while. It's been fun.
Posts: 4,846
Threads: 180
Joined: May 2007
Reputation:
254
2012-08-15, 03:55 PM
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-15, 03:59 PM by pavemen.)
the empty template is likely the result of a previous upgrade bug. here is the default content for it
<table border="0" cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}" class="tborder">
<tr>
<td class="thead"><strong>Random {$rand_showcase['name']}</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="trow1">
<strong><a href="{$item_viewcode}">{$entry['description']}</a><br /></strong>
<span class="smalltext">
<strong>» </strong>{$item_member}<br />
<strong>» </strong>Views: {$entry['views']}<br />
<strong>» </strong>Comments: {$entry['comments']}<br />
</span>
<div style="float:right"><a href="{$item_viewcode}"><img src="{$rand_img}" border="0"></a></div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
if you want to output a random showcase image to the portal, simply populate the template then edit the portal template and insert {$portal_rand_showcase} where you want it to be output.
If you want to place it on the index instead, change the hook function from portal_start to index_start and place {$portal_rand_showcase} in the index template
oh, and you do need to edit the showcase itself and check the option to show random on portal, otherwise you wont get anything.
Lost interest, sold my sites, will browse here once in a while. It's been fun.