MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Release version 1.9 before 2.0
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Hi guys,

I'm a developer but I'm new to MyBB.  After checking out almost all other forum scripts available for PHP I have to say that MyBB has perhaps the greatest potential and the reason for that is well written code with good balance of performance and transparency  

HOWEVER

There is one huge exception. Storing templates in the database is just a very bad idea and having tables without primary keys is also bad but much lesser of a problem.

So I would like to suggest releasing of version 1.9 which would be just like 1.8.7 but with templates removed from the db and instead stored as files and dynamically called by controller and also adding primary keys to all tables.

The above code changes can be later used in version 2.0 and removing templates from the database would probably increase the performance by 30 to 50% particularly in application where database is on remote host which is common for many hosting companies.

Also the release of 1.9 can be easily designed in such a way that current users can upgrade without making any changes to the database. The templates that people already have can stay in the database but they simply won't be used and the upgrade will only involve dropping in new scripts into the htdocs folder and a new template file.

If you decide to adopt this idea then I would like to also contribute to the project.

All the best

P.S. There are many forums such as punBB or FluxBB which are much faster than MyBB but they are so badly written, that no sane person should ever touch them. Others such as Vanilla are such a massive bloatware that require huge dedicated servers to run any substantial size forum. Please don't f@ck it up in version 2.0.
Not being funny here, but what?

No primary keys on the tables?