MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: MyBB GoMobile - Official Site
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Doesn't work on my sisters HTC Touch Diamond, which is Windows Mobile mind you, so I'll look into it.
(08-31-2010, 01:43 AM)Scoutie44 Wrote: [ -> ]Doesn't work on my sisters HTC Touch Diamond, which is Windows Mobile mind you, so I'll look into it.

It would just be a matter of getting the ID for the Windows Mobile browser client, since Desires use Android, it isn't the same obviously. I'm not sure if there would be a way to do it, but it would be great if we can forward the theme to a subdomain like:

http://m.mybbgm.com

Similar to what all the social networking websites do. Smile
I have a list of user agents, just a matter of finding common ones.

I suppose it could be done but really, what's the point? This (imo) is easier to set up and yields the exact same results. At that point you'd have an entirely separate system just using the same database, so upgrades and such become more of a hassle (double the work).

Personally I just see no point in doing that as I can't imagine any benefits besides seo, which can be easily handled anyways.
(08-31-2010, 02:20 AM)Scoutie44 Wrote: [ -> ]I have a list of user agents, just a matter of finding common ones.

I suppose it could be done but really, what's the point? This (imo) is easier to set up and yields the exact same results. At that point you'd have an entirely separate system just using the same database, so upgrades and such become more of a hassle (double the work).

Personally I just see no point in doing that as I can't imagine any benefits besides seo, which can be easily handled anyways.

The benefit is no user agents are required because that sub domain would automatically point to the theme.
How would one automatically determine whether or not a user is on a mobile then to forward them to the subdomain?
It wouldn't. If I head to http://www.facebook.com on my phone it would show the proper PC version of the website, but if I head to http://m.facebook.com it would show the mobile rendered version. User agents are fine, I'm just saying is that with a setup like that, its only two extra character sthey have to type to ensure that they definitely get the mobile version and it doesn't render the wrong theme.
(08-31-2010, 02:52 AM)Scoutie44 Wrote: [ -> ]How would one automatically determine whether or not a user is on a mobile then to forward them to the subdomain?

Via a plugin. If i remember correctly iBB (from zynge) uses a plugin by Pirata Nervo.
Im so using this when it's out! It's great!
in WinMo 6.5 it auto detects the Web vs desktop in IE and renders properly. However, same phone on Opera Mobile 10 (release version, not beta of it) will detect Web vs Desktop views, but when rendering the mobile version it is way too wide. It is the mobile version, just twice as wide as it should be.
(08-31-2010, 03:22 AM)Sleepwalker Wrote: [ -> ]It wouldn't. If I head to http://www.facebook.com on my phone it would show the proper PC version of the website, but if I head to http://m.facebook.com it would show the mobile rendered version. User agents are fine, I'm just saying is that with a setup like that, its only two extra character sthey have to type to ensure that they definitely get the mobile version and it doesn't render the wrong theme.

Right, but it's a lot more difficult to maintain. With this, all you need is a plugin and a theme. With the subdomain method, you require a somewhat extensively modified version of MyBB - when it comes to updates, you now have 2 systems to worry about as opposed to one and a plugin (theme would only be for major updates really). Besides that I'm not a PHP expert and I'll ensure the system can detect 99% of all mobiles - even at that I'll modify it to have a link at the bottom (or somewhere) with a "Switch to mobile view." and vice-versa.

(08-31-2010, 04:01 AM)Mark.M Wrote: [ -> ]Via a plugin. If i remember correctly iBB (from zynge) uses a plugin by Pirata Nervo.

You still need user agents to do this correctly though.
(08-31-2010, 02:25 PM)pavemen Wrote: [ -> ]in WinMo 6.5 it auto detects the Web vs desktop in IE and renders properly. However, same phone on Opera Mobile 10 (release version, not beta of it) will detect Web vs Desktop views, but when rendering the mobile version it is way too wide. It is the mobile version, just twice as wide as it should be.

I'm lost :|
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8