MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Introduce Yourself!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm a new user. I see this thread hasn't seen activity since 2018. A new introduction here may be wasteful; it seems nobody cares. However, I feel in the need to introduce myself so that nobody assumes things about me that are not correct.

I graduated in 1990 with a bachelor degree in maths, computing specialization. I never exerted that as a profession; but worked on generating corporate reports by querying the database with SQL. Right now I'm unemployed and seeking to get a new career; completely broke. I have almost no knowledge of PHP, HTML, CSS, Javascript, or anything that can relate to MyBB or any knowledge on MyBB itself.

In the last couple of years, I've gotten interested on some area of entertainment, and wanted to start a forum on it. Being broke, I'm going for free alternatives to start with, and then see how I go from it. I managed to install Cygwin on my computer, and with that also Apache, MariaDB, and MyBB itself. I now have a "forum" running locally on my computer. I want an alerts system (I installed MyAlerts), a reactions system (I installed MyReactions), a mentions system (I installed MentionMe), and then I got stuck on an inactive user identification and management system, I found no free one, actually none at all. So I am making one.

The plugin development section on this website says that plugin development *requires* a solid knowledge on MyBB and all those languages I mention above, and that I don't know. Until now, I have managed to write the install and uninstall functions for a working Inactive User plugin. It only does that for now. It creates two tables, one for the settings and one for the identified users who have not been seen in X days. I have it still on a private github repo (I've had to learn git and github as well to do it).